Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

St Christopher's Home , Balby

Photograph of St Christopher's Home , Balby

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

St Christopher's Home , Balby

Old Hall, Balby, nr. Doncaster, West Riding, Yorkshire

(1905 - 1960)

St Christopher's was established in 1905 to replace the Beckett Denison Home in French Gate, Doncaster. The new building, Old Hall, was purchased for the handsome sum of £2,250. Before the girls could move in extensive alterations were made to the house, amounting to £950, which is the equivalent of £60,000 today. The Home was opened on 23 September 1905 by the Archbishop of York. Twenty-five girls, aged 7-12, moved in shortly afterwards.

St Christopher's held many fêtes, sales, and concerts to help raise money for the Home. In the first few years of their opening, the President, Mrs Warde-Aldam of Frickley Hall, organised several Pound Days, which raised a total of around £2,400. She retired in January 1908, to be replaced by Mrs Sanford. Mrs Blagden worked as the Home's first Honorary Secretary, until she was superseded by Mrs Pearce-Brown sometime between 1905 and 1907.

The Home was in operation for many years. In 1957 St Christopher's was changed from a girls' home to a boys' home, before finally closing in 1960.



The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo