Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

St Andrew's Home For Boys, Matlock

Photograph of St Andrew's Home For Boys, Matlock

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

St Andrew's Home For Boys, Matlock

Tansley Road, Matlock, Derbyshire

(1901 - 1946)

When wealthy mill owner Ernest Bailey and his family moved into a newly built house in 1901, their former residence became empty. Mr Bailey decided to give the unused building to the Society, and St Andrew's Home was established. Thirty-four boys (aged 8-14) formed the first intake, and the Home was officially opened on St Andrew's Day (30 November) 1901.

The boys benefited from a huge dining-room, a games-room and a gym. They also had a playground and two large fields, where they could play cricket and football. The boys went to Tansley CE School or the Council School, as well as attending St Giles' Sunday School.

Edward Bailey became the Home's Honorary Secretary and grew to be heavily involved with St Andrew's. He visited the boys regularly, attended their Summer camps and even drilled the 2nd Matlock Scout Troop, of which the boys were all members. He was also a strict man, as one boy pointed out: 'One only visited the private residence of Mr Bailey when summoned by the gentleman himself, usually for any misdemeanours or other sins'.

When Mr Bailey passed away in 1938, Mr GW Fordham took over as Honorary Secretary. The boys were moved to Penketh in 1946 and two years later The Home was converted into the Ernest Bailey Nursery.



The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo