Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

St Agnes' Home For Girls, Mirfield

Photograph of St Agnes' Home For Girls, Mirfield

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

St Agnes' Home For Girls, Mirfield

Dunbottle House, Mirfield, West Riding, Yorkshire

(1890 - 1927)

St Agnes' Home for Girls was established in 1890 'for the purpose of drawing off about twelve children', from the nearby Beckett Home for Girls when it became too full. All 12 children (aged 6-12) were transferred from the recently closed Meanwood Home for Girls. On 17 January 1890, St Agnes' Home was officially opened and dedicated by the Bishop of Wakefield.

St Agnes' became successful and worked in tandem with the Beckett Home for many years, even sharing a Lady Superintendent called Miss Barter. Apart from the youngest all the girls were educated in the local day and Sunday school.

A new washhouse was installed in 1904 and a new wing was started on 1 January 1910. This was quite an adventure for the girls, as they were temporary lodged in the Presbytery at St Anne's Convalescent Home, Bridlington. The new wing was opened on 30 June 1910, with a dedication service by the Canon Walsham How. Although the weather was forecast as sunny, the rain forced everyone to reconvene indoors.

The Home was converted into a babies home (also called St Agnes') in 1927 and then moved to Field House, Battyeford, Mirfield in 1939. Dunbottle House was then used as a war nursery between 1941 and 1945.



The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo