Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

All Saints' Home For Boys, Almondbury

Photograph of All Saints' Home For Boys, Almondbury

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

All Saints' Home For Boys, Almondbury

Dark Lane, Almondbury, Huddersfield, West Riding, Yorkshire

(1892 - c1987)

All Saints' Home for Boys was originally established in 1892 by the Dowager of Dartmouth, and was maintained as a Cottage Home. In 1894 the Home moved from its original premises to a new location at Royds Lodge, which had a garden and a field. On moving in, it was cleaned and painted from top to toe by Miss Blanche Brooke. Miss Brooke also collected a small sum of money to pay for a trip to the seaside for the boys and their Matron, Mrs Ford.

In 1907 Royds Lodge was replaced with a new home. This was built in Almondbury by Mrs CD Hoste on land donated by her father, Sir John Brooke. The new building could accommodate ten boys aged between three and seven. From 1914 they started to house older boys from ages 7-12.

In 1937 a new wing was built for the home - the construction work forcing the children to be relocated to Huddersfield until it was complete. The Princess Royal's visit to open the extension on 23 September 1938, was a worthy treat for the children who couldn't wait to come back.

Later years saw many changes. In 1945 the Home started to care for girls as well as boys. In 1974, All Saints' became a centre for the specific care of physically disabled children.

The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo Wellcome Trust