Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

St David's Home For Boys, Dolgellau

Photograph of St David's Home For Boys, Dolgellau

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

St David's Home For Boys, Dolgellau

Dolgellau, Merioneth, Wales

(1904 - 1917)

The Bishop of Bangor opened St David's Home for Boys on 15 July 1904. We do not know much about this home as it was only open for 14 years and infrequently mentioned in our archives.

We do know that it took the place of St Deniol's Home for Boys at Arthog, which closed in 1903. The premises were rented, and St David's could house 20 boys aged 6-13. Mr G Cape was the Home's Master, and Colonel Scott was the Chairman of their House Committee.

Scott organised a drill squad for the boys, and after practising all Summer long, they took first honours and the silver medal at the 1905 Welsh Industries Exhibition. It is mentioned that Mrs Cartwright of Fairbourne paid for this event.

In 1914 Cape was called out to the First World War and replaced by a temporary Matron for three years, before the Home closed in 1917.

The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo Wellcome Trust