Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

Stildon Home, East Grinstead

Photograph of Stildon Home, East Grinstead

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

Stildon Home, East Grinstead

East Grinstead, Sussex

(1945 - 1981)

Stildon Home opened at the end of the Second World War in 1945. The nursery was formally opened with 30 resident babies on 25 September 1945 by the Revd G Golding-Bird.

By 1957 the nursery's residents were mainly very small babies although there were also three older children of around two years old.

An extension was built in 1968 at the nursery and two years later a laundry was installed.

The Nursery became a Home for older children in 1972 and residents from Maurice Home, Ealing, London moved in.

In 1976 telephone adoption advice services were set up in various centres around the country and at the East Grinstead Home 118 calls for advice were taken in the first six months of operation.

The Home closed in 1981 due to a drop in referrals from local authorities. Of the 10 residents most were older teenagers who were ready to leave the Home and live independently, whilst foster homes were sought for the remaining three.

The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo Wellcome Trust