Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

St Alban's Home For Boys, Knebworth

Photograph of St Alban's Home For Boys, Knebworth

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

St Alban's Home For Boys, Knebworth

Knebworth, Hertfordshire

(1914 - 1975)

In 1913 Knebworth was one of a number of Homes to be improved and expanded. It was hoped that a new Home would help the already existing Knebworth Home for Boys and increase the number of boys that could be accommodated. The building was designed by the Society's architect architect EJ May and was surrounded by one and three quarter acres of grounds. The Home was fully completed by the beginning of 1914. Archdeacon Gibbs led the Home's dedication ceremony on 27 May 1914 and it was officially opened by Lord Lytton. The new Home could hold up to 40 boys of school age.

In 1921 the residents held music concerts to raise money in order to equip the Home with its own flag-staff.

St Alban's was one of the Homes that benefited from The South African Soldiers' and Sailors' Widows and Orphan Fund, which provided funding for 150 war orphans in the Society's Homes, donating £2,000 in 1922.

In 1942 residents at St Albans Home would attend school every day except for Saturday, when they would help Matron with cooking and general chores.

In 1973 the Home accommodated 17 boys aged 6-16. St Alban's was temporarily closed in July 1973 as the Houseparents retired and no others could be found. The Home was reopened in February 1974 as a Home/Hostel for adolescent boys.

The Home was closed in 1975 due to a fall in admissions and the Houseparents were transferred to St Mark's Centre, Natland, Cumbria.

The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo Wellcome Trust