Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

Emmeline Winstanley Home For Boys, Knutsford

Photograph of Emmeline Winstanley Home For Boys, Knutsford

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

Emmeline Winstanley Home For Boys, Knutsford

The Heath, Knutsford, Cheshire

(1914 - 1956)

This Home was originally built as a grammar school, 30 years before the Society took it over in 1913. The Home was a gift from an anonymous donor, who was later found out to be Mr Claude Hardy. Mr Hardy also promised to pay £5 for each boy per year, which was a very generous offer at the time. The building was spacious, with enough room to house 50 boys (aged 7-14).

The Bishop of Chester opened the Home with a dedication ceremony on 3 June 1914. However, when the First World War began in August of the same year, the Society offered the Home as a gift to the Royal Patriotic Fund Corporation to use for housing the sons of soldiers and sailors killed in action. To make it more like a home for these 'War Cases' the boys were encouraged not to wear uniform while they attended the local school and church.

The Master, and Miss Carver, the Honorary Secretary also started up a Boy Scout troop as well as cricket and football teams to help take the boys' minds away from the war.

Miss Carver left in 1919 and was replaced by Miss Comber. The Home finally closed in 1956.

The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo Wellcome Trust