Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

St Michael's Home For Boys, Lyme Regis

Photograph of St Michael's Home For Boys, Lyme Regis

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

St Michael's Home For Boys, Lyme Regis

Lyme Regis, Dorset

(1891 - 1898)

St Michael's Home was formerly the private residence of the Revd Edward Peek. He offered his house to the Waifs and Strays' Society in 1891, asking for only a nominal rent. The building was quickly converted into a boys' home, and 20 children (aged 7-10) moved in by the end of the year.

The children were looked after by their Lady Superintendent, Miss Waring, who they affectionately called 'dear lady'. She organised the daily routine of the Home, which began at six o'clock in the morning when some of the older boys went out to work. The younger ones would rise at seven to their porridge, and then make their way to school. A letter from the local schoolmaster states that the boys were always punctual and 'well up to the average in abilities and attainments'.

At midday the children all returned for their lunch-break, and played a game of football or went for a walk on the beach. Once afternoon school was over, the boys helped with the housework by cleaning their boots and chopping wood for the fire. According to Miss Waring, everybody would be 'safely tucked up in bed by 8:15 at the latest'.

The Home closed in 1898 when the children moved to the Highweek Home.

The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo Wellcome Trust