Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

St George's Receiving Home, Manchester

Photograph of St George's Receiving Home, Manchester

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

St George's Receiving Home, Manchester

224 Great Clowes Street, Manchester, Lancashire

(1917 - 1928)

St George's Home was opened on 18 July 1917, with a dedication ceremony conducted by the Lord Bishop of Manchester. As a receiving home, the Home looked after 20 boys and girls in 'immediate need' who were placed there at just a few hours notice. St George's only offered temporary accommodation to the children, before they were moved on to a permanent home. We believe that its status as a receiving home was just a short-term measure, necessitated by problems caused by the First World War. At this time the Home also functioned as a depot for the Manchester area, storing clothes and supplies that were donated to the Waifs and Strays' Society.

After the Great War, the Home underwent some significant changes. In 1920 St George's became an ordinary boys' home, looking after 30 children (aged 8-15) on a permanent basis. Many of the new children, along with a new Master and Matron, came from the recently closed Heywood Home. We believe that the depot also closed in this year, as it is no longer mentioned in our records.

Every Summer the boys were taken on holiday to Fleetwood where they stayed in a local school. During their visit of 1921, the boys were given a guided tour of the fish docks and went swimming in the sea. They also visited Blackpool 'where some of the wonders of the popular northern resort were patronised by the lads'.

The Home was closed in 1928, and the boys were transferred to another part of Manchester (Kersal).

The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo Wellcome Trust