Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

Fieldhead Nursery, Battyeford

Photograph of Fieldhead Nursery, Battyeford

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

Fieldhead Nursery, Battyeford

Battyeford, Mirfield, Yorkshire

(1940 - 1971)

In 1939 Fieldhead was purchased in Battyeford, Mirfield, Yorkshire. Originally the Society had planned to rebuild a 'thoroughly modern' Home overlooking Kirklees but changed their plans after the Field Head site was offered at a 'considerable saving of cost'. The Princess Royal [Princess Mary, The Princess Royal, Countess of Harewood; daughter of George V, King of Great Britain and Ireland] visited the new home in the same year. She had previously promised to lay the foundation stone for the original proposed rebuilding of Kirklees.

In 1940 the Fieldhead Home was described as being 'a long, low stone-built house approached by a drive...it has fields around it and commands a wide view, dotted here and there with tall chimneys, away to the Pennines'. The Home had 'good lawns' and a walled kitchen garden which provided 'greenstuff containing wholesome vitamins - A, B, C, D, or whatever the letter may be...'.

On 8 June 1940 Fieldhead was officially opened by Revd Walsham How, Bishop of Wakefield. In 1971 the Home was closed as the need for residential care in the area had lessened.

The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo Wellcome Trust