Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

Morfa Home For Boys, Newquay

Photograph of Morfa Home For Boys, Newquay

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

Morfa Home For Boys, Newquay

Morfa', Cliff Road, Newquay, Cornwall

(1909 - 1930)

The Morfa Home was established in 1909, to replace the recently closed Helston Home for Boys. All 30 boys moved to their new address on 13 October 1909, following a dedication by the Revd WH Neales. To mark the occasion, the Union Jack flag was flown outside the Home and the National Anthem was played by a brass band. Over 100 people attended the ceremony.

Many homes relied on the generosity of the local community for their income. Various local businesses were more than happy to help out the Morfa Home, as when the master appealed to all the barbers in the town to cut the boys' hair at a reduced price. One said he would cut their hair for free if all the other barbers did the same, and without hesitation they all agreed. From then on all the barbers took it in turns visiting the Home as required, free of charge.

Around 1928 the Home came to be known as St Michael's Home for Boys, and closed in 1930 because the lease expired and could not be renewed. All the children and staff were transferred to St. Budoc's, Falmouth.

The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo Wellcome Trust