Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

St Gregory's Home For Babies, Plymouth

Photograph of St Gregory's Home For Babies, Plymouth

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

St Gregory's Home For Babies, Plymouth

Plymouth, Devon

(1925 - 1941)

St Gregory's Home For Babies was opened on 3 June 1925 by Lady Florence Cecil and dedicated by the Lord Bishop of Exeter.

On 3 July 1929 the Home held a fête with stalls and displays such as gymnastics and music. According to the Annual Reports this Home was also Affiliated to the Association of Nursery Training Colleges (ANTC) from 1929 to at least 1937.

An ANTC inspector made a report on the Home in 1935 and it stated that the equipment and premises were 'satisfactory', the milk kitchen 'deserving particular praise...'.

The Home, which accommodated over 40 babies, closed in 1941 during the Second World War, and the residents were evacuated to Barleythorpe Hall Home for Babies, Oakham, Rutland and later to Milton Lodge Home for Babies, Gillingham.

The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo Wellcome Trust