Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

St Michael's Home For Girls, Sevenoaks

Photograph of St Michael's Home For Girls, Sevenoaks

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

St Michael's Home For Girls, Sevenoaks

Vine Court Road, Sevenoaks, Kent

(1914 - 1920)

The Home was operated by the Waifs and Strays' Society for six years, but was previously ran by its founders, the Misses Johnson. After 36 years they found the Home a little too much to cope with so they asked the Society to carry on their good work while they earned a well deserved rest!

St Michael's was officially transferred with an well-attended meeting on 29 October 1914. The Home was handed over with the Bishop of Rochdale and Edward Rudolph present. The 'little home' on Vine Court Road could accommodate 16 girls. Mrs Nevile (or Neville) Roxby was the Honorary Secretary when the transfer happened. She was quickly replaced with Miss Charles in 1918.

The Home was forced to close in 1920, when the property's lease expired and it was also considered unsuitable.

The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo Wellcome Trust