Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

St Andrew's Home For Girls, Southsea

Photograph of St Andrew's Home For Girls, Southsea

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

St Andrew's Home For Girls, Southsea

St Simon's Road, Southsea, Hampshire

(1908 - 1930)

St Andrew's Home for Girls was already running as a children's home, when it was transferred to the Society in 1908. Mother Emma, the Head Deaconess of the Winchester Diocese, had founded St Andrew's 20 years earlier, in Victoria Road, Southsea. The building was originally constructed as two residential homes, which were converted into one. The Home had an excellent reputation of producing happy and fun-loving girls even though they only had a tiny garden to play in. They made up for it in the hot summer months by playing all day on the beach.

Even though the building was quite small, the Home could accommodate 27 girls aged 7-14. They started learning domestic skills at an early age and by nine were expected to make their own beds - at 14 they learnt cooking and laundry. Mrs Constantine worked as the first Honorary Secretary, until she was replaced by Mrs Graves in 1917. She only stayed for two years, and Miss Bacon superseded her in 1919.

In 1911 the Society moved the girls to a large property on St Simon's Road but was not dedicated until 1911. The property was quickly repaired and equipped 'to the needs of such an establishment', before being opened by the Bishop of Southampton on 7 March. This new home was three stories high, with a long dining room, playroom, laundry-room and kitchen. This time they also had a very large garden to play in. Something everyone was happy about!

The Home closed in 1930, and the girls were re-housed in other Society homes.

The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo Wellcome Trust