Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

St Mary's Home, Felixstowe

Photograph of St Mary's Home, Felixstowe

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

St Mary's Home, Felixstowe

Felixstowe, Suffolk

(1931 - 1973)

St Mary's Home was run for 36 years by Mary and Vera Growse before being transferred to the Society in 1931. The Home had originally been established in Bildeston before being relocated to Felixstowe in 1901. At the time of the transfer to the Society, 27 girls aged 3-16 were accommodated.

St Mary's Home was situated in its own grounds and facing the sea. In 1938 the Cork Lightship crew were presented with eight hand-knitted woollen scarves which had been completed by six of the Home girls.

In 1935 the Society was approached by the Home Office about making one of its Homes an approved school for girls under the 1933 Children's Act, and St Mary's Home for Girls, Felixstowe was chosen.

In 1940 the residents were evacuated to St Mary's Home for Girls, Kibworth, Leicestershire where they remained after the Second World War. For a short time in 1946 residents from St Mary's Home For Girls, Cheam, Surrey were housed at St Mary's, Felixstowe before the Home reopened later in the year as a Nursery.

St Mary's existed as a Nursery for 27 years before finally closing in July 1973.

The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo Wellcome Trust