Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

Home Of The Good Shepherd For Boys, Hanley Castle

Photograph of Home Of The Good Shepherd For Boys, Hanley Castle

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

Home Of The Good Shepherd For Boys, Hanley Castle

Hanley Castle, nr. Malvern, Worcestershire

(1888 - 1950)

The Home Of The Good Shepherd For Boys in Hanley Castle opened in 1888. The Home had proved so successful in its opening year that a new girl's home was able to be built from the profits in nearby Belbroughton. This success was jeopardised when negotiations to extend the Good Shepherd Home's lease broke down. The Society's Worcestershire Committee was forced to set up a fund for building a new home. It was agreed that the Society would contribute £1000 to the fund, but that another £1000 would have to be raised locally. When the lease ran out, and the Home moved in 1891, the Society took over all financial responsibility for both the Homes.

Despite the building work being delayed by bad weather, and an outbreak of diphtheria, the new Home Of The Good Shepherd For Boys was opened on 21 May 1891 by Bishop Creighton, the Canon of Worcester. It was 'within a stone's throw of St Gabriel's Church', where the resident vicar - the Revd GF Fieldwick, was Chaplain to the Home. The new building was capable of holding 20 children instead of just 12 like its predecessor. In 1892 additional land was made available to the Home and building work on an extension was started.

For many years Mr E Topley was the Master of the Hanley Castle Home while the Worcester Diocesan Secretary Revd EW Issac acted as their Honorary Secretary. A new playroom was added in 1927 and a new wing in 1936. The Home closed in 1950.

The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo Wellcome Trust