Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

Islington Technical Home

Photograph of Islington Technical Home

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

Islington Technical Home

119 Copenhagen Street, Islington, London

(1901 - 1913)

Islington Home for Boys was founded in 1862 in memory of the Revd Daniel Wilson, a prominent figure within the Church. The Home was run independently for nearly 40 years, before the Society took it over in 1901. At this time, the name was changed to Islington Technical Home and a new committee was appointed, with Miss Mann as Honorary Secretary. Miss Jordon replaced Miss Mann as the Secretary in 1904, but she did not stay for long, and OL Watkins superseded her sometime between 1905-1908.

Under the supervision of their Master and Matron, the 40 to 60 boys (aged 13-16) were trained in various manual trades, including carpentry, shoemaking and tailoring. The boys proved to be so successful at their trades, that the Home became almost entirely self-sufficient, needing little financial aid from the Society.

The Islington Home also functioned as an emergency hostel for boys who could not be housed elsewhere, or who needed immediate hospital treatment in London. In 1906 a special sick-room was added to the Home, to accommodate these unwell visitors.

At first the Home only looked after boys who were over school age, but this changed in 1912 when the accommodation was re-arranged to admit younger children. This allowed a nurse to be present at all time to oversee the young ones' welfare and schooling.

The Home moved to Hatton Hall in Wellingborough in 1913.

The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo Wellcome Trust