Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

Leicester Working Boys' Home

Photograph of Leicester Working Boys' Home

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

Leicester Working Boys' Home

Fern Bank, Avenue Road, Leicester, Leicestershire

(1892 - c1905)

This home was established in 1893 as an off-shoot of the Leicester Home for Boys, which had been taken over by the Society three years earlier. The two homes worked in tandem, with the new Working Boys' Home providing accommodation for children who were too old for the Boys' Home (those over 13 years old). As the two homes were so closely affiliated, there was no need for separate staff and they were both managed by the same committee. The first Matron was Miss Jefferson, with Miss Miles as Honorary Secretary.

Unlike the younger boys, the lads in the Working Boys' Home did not attend school on weekdays. Instead they were expected to find employment in Leicester, and went to the Sunday School at St John the Baptist's Church. They also helped with the gardening, and sold their greenhouse produce at a local market.

Both homes moved to Stoneygate Grove in 1898, which was also located on Avenue Road. The official opening was held on 23 September 1898 by Lady Mary Carr Glyn. The new building was extensively refurbished, with £3,100 donated by the Secretary, Miss Miles.

The Working Boys' section of the Home closed sometime around 1905, though Leicester Home for Boys continued for many years.

The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo Wellcome Trust