Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

St George's Home for Boys, Orford

Photograph of St George's Home for Boys, Orford

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

St George's Home for Boys, Orford

Orford, near Warrington, Lancashire

(1924 - 1934)

St George's Home for Boys in Warrington moved to the neighbouring town of Orford in 1924. For several months in the run-up to the transfer a series of charity events were organised in an attempt to finance the move without drawing on diocesan funds. The 'Ladies of Warrington' also raised £200 to pay for the repairs and alterations to the new building

The Home was officially opened on 27 February 1924 and dedicated by the Bishop of Warrington. At its opening St George's Home accommodated 20 boys of school age. In 1927 a recreation room was also added with additional sleeping room above.

In 1932 the Scouts and Cubs from St George's Home took part in a drill display and pageant which was met with 'much applause...'.

By 1933 the cost of running the Home each year came to approximately £30 per resident. In the same year the Masonic House in Warrington was used as the location for the Christmas Ball in aid of the Home.

In February of 1934 Mr RF Anderton, the Secretary of the Warrington Rugby League Club visited the home and gave a talk on touring with the Rugby League team.

In 1934 the residents moved from St George's Home in Orford to a new Home in Penketh to allow residents aged 14-16 to be housed separately from the younger boys. The new Home in Penketh was used as a Training Home and also allowed older residents to return for holidays after they had left.

St George's in Orford closed permanently in 1934.

The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo Wellcome Trust