Hidden Lives Revealed. A virtual archive - children in care 1881-1981 * Image of handwritten text

St George's Home For Boys, Penketh

Photograph of St George's Home For Boys, Penketh

Discover more about this imagelink opens in a new window

St George's Home For Boys, Penketh

Penketh, near Warrington, Lancashire

(1934 - 1970)

In 1934 the residents moved from St George's Home in Orford to a new Home in Penketh to allow residents aged 14-16 years to be housed separately from the younger boys. The new Penketh Home was used as a Training Home and also allowed older residents to return for holidays after they had left.

The official opening of the Penketh Home took place on 12 December 1934 by Sir W Peter Rylands and the Home was dedicated by the Right Revd the Lord Bishop of Warrington. The Home was built to house 30 residents under 14 years of age and six trainees over 14 years of age.

Many of the Homes would organise fêtes as a way of raising funds for their annual holidays and in 1935 the Matron of St George's Home organised stalls, dancing and a performance of Robin Hood, all to take place in the grounds of the Home. The event raised £61.

The holiday of 1935 was to Pont-y-Pant in Wales where staff and residents camped for three weeks amongst the mountains and took part in a variety of outdoor activities. In September 1939 the residents of St George's were evacuated to Pont-y-Pant because of the Second World War and later dispersed.

The Home reopened in 1946 and the residents from St Andrew's Home for Boys, Matlock transferred there.

In 1970 the Home closed after Mr and Mrs Hueston, who ran the Home, moved to Ryecroft Home, Worsley, near Manchester. Some of the former residents of Penketh moved with them and the remainder went to other Homes nearer their own relatives.

The Children's Society UNESCO logo Big
           Lottery Fund logo Wellcome Trust